The 12 Cookies Of Christmas

The 2012 Cookies Boxes!

The 2012 Cookies Boxes!

From the spreadsheet to the baking sheet, my annual experiment in small batch gift giving is over for another year. While I didn’t have as much time to labor over every single sprinkle and glaze this year, and I was down 4 hands as Kevin was under the weather and Amy didn’t come home from L.A. until just yesterday, I think the 2012 Cookie Boxes turned out pretty darned tasty!

Mary's Sugar Cookies

Mary’s Sugar Cookies

Cookie Boxes were bursting with: Big Buttery Snowflakes. Chocolate Espresso Snowcaps. Lemon Wreaths…

Not A Sesame Bagel, Promise.

Not A Sesame Bagel, Promise.

Lime Glazed Shortbread. Jumbo Fancy Candy Canes. Gingerbread Reindeer…

Prancer!

Prancer!

Chocolate Chip Meringues. Walnut Fudge. Bittersweet Hazelnut Bites. Almond Diamonds…

New This Year!

New This Year!

Peppermint Bark. And Santa’s Sleigh…

Made This One In Decorating Class!

Made This One In Decorating Class!

I made 30 boxes total. Large ones for groups like Kevin’s team at KEXP and smaller ones for individuals like Charlie’s Godmom, Carol. The process started before Thanksgiving and I still have one box to deliver to Super G. There were first time recipients like my coworkers at Jet City Stream, and folks who’ve been there since the start like Jodi’s husband David, who might just be my biggest baking fan. Sadly, there are some folks who won’t be getting cookies this year who might have gotten them in the past, my Chicago family, for instance, because I haven’t cracked the nut of sending them in the mail. Maybe that will be a goal for next year.

Super Size My Cheer!

Super Size My Cheer!

Honestly, I wish I could bake a small batch of cookies for everyone I know. I love the whole, long, turbulent, fattening, fun, painstaking process. My friends always seem grateful when I deliver their box, but I get the biggest gift of all because my noisy, meandering mind focus. That is a win win. So here’s to the 12 Cookies Of Christmas and to spreading and receiving joy this year. Because sometimes one act can do both. And who couldn’t use more joy?

An Assembly Line Of Love

An Assembly Line Of Love

So that’s a wrap on Christmas 2012. May yours be merry and filled to the brim with sweetness. Love, Shawn

Joy!

Joy!

 

 

About shawnalogue

Visit my website for more info and better music: www.shawn-stewart.com
This entry was posted in baking, food, lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The 12 Cookies Of Christmas

  1. Brittany says:

    These all look great!! I love the reindeer and the sleigh! Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

